Madrid, Spain

I actually spent only a few days in Madrid and relatively little time in the city proper – much of it while staving of jet lag.  However, I did manage to snap a few favorite intersections in the pretty tourist region between the Plaza del Sol and the Prado … and a few interesting modernist office buildings in the more commercial region near el Estacion del Sur.  Here’s a selection.

I quite enjoyed my visit to the Prado (although for other tourist reference, it is open until 8pm and free after 6 so I could probably have spared my admission fee and done it in a few hours (or even a few successive days).  I enjoyed the building almost as much as the art – the original building is a lovely neoclassical edifice with marble staircases and dramatic rotundas and the more recent wing by Raphael Moneo is really lovely and eye-catching space filled with interesting shard like shapes and disjunctures.  I enjoyed setting up contrasts between the new and old spaces.

Leave a Reply

