Chicago Snaps: Skyline from North Pond

20131008-135041.jpg

This  view of the north skyline (the Hancock building and the tip of the Trump tower but not the Sears/Willis) over North Pond in Lincoln Park is one of my favorite regular vistas.  I run a circuit that takes me through the zoo and circles the pond and every time I catch this view it brings a smile to my face.  For some reason, even though the (former) Sears tower is the more well known signature skyscraper of the city, I feel more of a connection to the Hancock.  Its closer to the Museum campus and Michigan Avenue.  I have childhood memories of taking tea in its near top-floor restaurant  and my sister walks by its base as part of her daily commute to school on the Northwestern campus.  Every time I look up and see this, I am powerfully reminded that I’m living in Chicago now.

 

Leave a Reply

